Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jamiedolan_gw

Hen & Chicks Inside?

jamiedolan
13 years ago

Can I grow some Hen & Chicks inside with my new Cactus? Do the Hen & Chicks need a dormancy period?

I've searched online and some things call Hen & Chicks house plants, but I've found people call things houseplants that really must have a dormancy period (i.e. chinese elm bonsai).

I won't bring in hen and chicks if they are going to end up dying without a dormancy period.

Thanks!

Jamie

Comments (13)

• cactusmcharris, interior BC Z4/5
    13 years ago

If you're speaking of Sempervivums and the like, they probably do better outside - preferably covered with snow - when it's cold for a long time with freezing winds.

Winter is, I believe, their dormant period. That's when all of my Semps (which are outside, along with cold-hardy Sedums, too) do nothing, while they wait for Spring and another year of living.

I'm not sure (others will know - I'm still learning), but I think Semps need cold in their culture.

Since you are into plants in a big way, I trust you'll excuse me for suggesting you'd do well to start learning proper names (e.g. 'Sempervivum'), as this question about common-and-inspecific 'Hens and Chicks' could be about a number of different types of plants, from Sempervivum (most of the time that's what is being written/spoken about) to Echeveria, Pachyphytum, Sedum, Graptopetalum....ad nauseum.

• jamiedolan
    Original Author
    13 years ago

HI;

Thanks, yes, Sempervivum. I saw some more people online selling Sempervivum today as houseplants.

I'm thinking your right and they do need the dormancy period. I kind of suspect they are short lived if they skip the dormancy period.

Thanks

Jamie

• Greenthumb
    13 years ago

Well, I grew S. 'Oddity' for a number of years under fluorescent lights without any problems.