Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
krismast

Cuttings in the gritty mix

krismast
11 years ago

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting in this forum. I'm usually over in the citrus forum. Anyway, I am starting some cuttings of a Christmas Cactus in Al's gritty mix. I was wondering how I know when to water a cutting in this mix?

Thanks for all the help!

Kristopher

Comments (9)

• cactusmcharris, interior BC Z4/5
    11 years ago

Kristopher,

Mist it daily - don't water it (it has no roots, so any soil watering is useless) until you see definite growth. I use a gritty mix, not The Gritty Mix, and cuttings, even the tropical ones such as yours, profit from misting first and then watering when growth is evident (meaning you likely have roots).

11 years ago

Kristopher,

I've been PM'd to not give advice on that which I don't grow, so take it from one who doesn't grow these plants, don't use my advice. The fount of CC wisdom will soon spout forth.

11 years ago

Kristopher,

I'm hoping someone will answer your question today - apparently the spout was turned off yesterday.

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    11 years ago

I've never rooted CC cuttings in Gritty Mix, so I shouldn't advise either, I suppose.
    However, I do root CC cuttings in bark or bark amended with perlite and lava rock (Scoria, pumice).
    Once the cuttings have callused, I put them into a moist mix (not wet). These plants root for me
    within weeks....although most cuttings I take tend to have root-hairs already present at the nodes,
    so that seriously cuts down on rooting time.

Josh

• Ron4310
    11 years ago

I root my cuttings on vermiculite. I lay the cactus cutting on top of the moistened vermiculite and pin down to make contact with the vermiculite. I then place plastic wrap over the top of the container to keep the humidity in. The cutting will send roots out from each leaf node and the cutting will produce a plant at each node. This method also lessens the chance of rot.