Return to the Cacti & Succulents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Planting Pencil cactus from cutting

Posted by jbaborr 21 (My Page) on
Thu, Oct 25, 07 at 20:05

Hello,

I have a 6 ft tall Pencil Cactus that is top heavy and starting to lean badly from the high winds here in S. California. I would like to know, short of staking, which I don't think looks very good; Could I cut of the top 3rd, let it dry out for a few days and plant that to sort of start it over. Also, would it be OK to leave the trunk that remains in the ground after the cutting..ie. will it get new growth on it.

I'm a little new to this, so I'm not sure if there would be a better way to handle this problem.

Also, I know the issues with the sap...so I will take precautions

Thanks in advance...

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Planting Pencil cactus from cutting

I would take off several pieces and plant them in pots to start. If you lose one you have several more going for you, when doing this protect your eyes with goggles, wear cloves and a plastic cover over your arms, that can be tossed out, take a shower after, keep sap off of you, out of your eyes, and nose, mouth, it can be dangerous. Prune this plant after July 4, when it will be hot enough for the cuttings to start, it needs heat to start and prosper. Good luck, I hope I have been of some help. Norma

o