Return to the Cacti & Succulents Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Desert rose dying?!!!!!!!!

Posted by mocropot (My Page) on
Mon, Oct 23, 06 at 21:27

Hello everybody!

I am a newbie to gardening and especially desert rose, but I got in love with this beautiful plant and bought 2 plants a week ago. This last Saturday I replanted it into cooper bowl with a good potted soil, watered a little bit and put in a full sun and today 2 days later one of the plant is wilted , the branches are " weeping". Please help! Is it dying? What I did wrong?

Thank you,
mocropot

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Desert rose dying?!!!!!!!!

First of all, I am assuming you mean Adenium obesum is desert rose. I only mention it because other species are called desert rose also.

First suspect on my list would be the soil is too damp. Remember it's a desert plant. It can get damp rot really easily. Use a soil similar to what you would use for cactus and make sure drainage is perfect- no continuously moist soil. And the pot MUST drain. When you say it's in a bowl, I'm wondering if it has drainage holes at the bottom?

If you think it could be damp, I would pull it out right away, let the roots get some air and dry off. Once dry, cut away anything that's rotted, then replant in a more appropriate medium. The plant may go dormant, and the leaves will fall off, but as long as the "bark" still has a greenish tinge it's still alive, and will revive and releaf eventually. Don't water when dormant.

They don't mind frequent watering when actively growing, but the soil must drain completely and quickly.

And they do like "tight" roots. You don't need a pot bigger than what is neccessary to contain the roots as they are now. It's not plant where you 'need plenty of room for the roots to spread'.

o