Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pauline_c_gw

Thimble Cactus 101!

pauline_c
11 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to GW, growing cactus/succulents, and just got this Thimble cactus a week ago. It looked really cute when all the buds were still attached! I went back yesterday and the rest were all sold out. That made me more determined to make sure this one survives. :) After some research, I have lots of questions which I hope I can get some pointers here. I'm currently in Seattle with no luck on sunny weathers.

1. The soil it came in looks really dry, it doesn't take water when I dropped few droplets on the top.

{{gwi:689714}}
Is this okay, how can I fix this? Should I somehow rinse out all the soil, let the roots air dry and repot?

2. Watering: I've read that this cactus doesn't need to be watered during the winter. Elsewhere, it said once a month during the winter. How can I tell when I should water? And what does a "thorough watering" mean? Is that something like a tablespoon of water for an 2inch pot?

3. Soil: I bought cactus/succulent soil from the store, it looks like this:

{{gwi:689715}}
It sounds like from the forum most commercial cactus/succulent soil is too "rich", and I should mix it with other things. But this soil looks pretty dry to me. Should I still mix it with other things?

4. The little buds on it are really fragile and a bunch fell off. Some has roots, while other has barely anything.

{{gwi:689716}} Do I need to let the left one grow out more roots before potting it? Can I pot the right one now? Currently all the buds are in a pot like this:

{{gwi:689717}}
And should/how I be watering these small ones?

5. Are these fit for terrariums? I originally started looking at this because of pretty (open) terrariums. But reading through the forum here, it seems that's not good for the plants. Are there things I can do, e.g. provide good drainage with a lot of rocks at the bottom?

Thanks much for the help in advance!

Pauline

Comments (10)

• greenjay