Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chellam_gw

Books or website with complete reference

Chellam
9 years ago

Hi,

I am looking for Books or website with complete reference.

I am a newbie in this area so a clear guide would be helpful.

I have already killed few succulents after placing them in a wrong location..and above all I am scared to water them..

Thanks in advance

Comments (3)

• hookilau
    9 years ago

Google works really well for me. Ebay too. I just use the search string 'succulent' to find plants that I like the growing habit of. Once I get the botanical name, I search out care.

I choose one plant at a time, acquire it, then learn all I can about it and how I can take care of it in my environment, before moving on to another.

I've killed a succulent or two hundred, lol.
    Kidding.
    No I'm not.
    =D

For watering, the combination of amount of light, amount of roots, type of media, and size of pot are all related. Get the balance right & you'll learn how *not* to drown your potted plants.

If a plant has adequate enough light to support it, it will take up water from the potting media via roots. For succulents, it should be a quick draining gritty mix, if the mix is too wet, small roots may drown.

The decrease in roots means there's less to take up water, leaving your potting media wetter than ideal. Too much of that & fungus & rot can set it, or, the lack of roots to support the rest of the plant, means leaves will drop.

Here in NY, challenges are to get enough light to the plants. This means a very gritty mix is beneficial and as much bright light as possible (this time of year). It helps to stick a skewer or chopstick in the pot, pull it out before watering. If it's wet, don't water. If it's damp, check back in a day or so.

If it doesn't dry out, check the health of the plant.