Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wantonamara

"Keep them doggies rolling , rawh-i-i-i-de"

I took a day off of work. Read "self employed and I will pay for it later." I built me two rolling garden benches. As some of you know, I build and restore furniture for a living. The stuff we do can not be made in a day. LOL. We get the simple stuff. You know what they said about the shoe makers kids? It's true. If I take a vacation, I do not want to be spending it working building, but I did do a busman's holiday this time.

Anyway, I am getting off topic. Here is a progression. They are really simple. Buying the materials took the longest of all the project. On the whole , not a bad way to spend the rainy day.

This is my tactic (or one of them ) to protect the plants during freezes. I roll them into my Pseudo Living Room they hasn't been built yet but is dried in and has a 16" wind/sliding door that the winter sun gets into.

I have cactus instead of a porch railing.

{{gwi:694457}}

{{gwi:694459}}

{{gwi:464283}}

{{gwi:694461}}

{{gwi:464282}}

Comments (11)

• nil13
    10 years ago

Nice work using those 4x4s. That looks great. However, the light colored stringer bugs me a little. I think I would have taken a torch to it to ebonize it and then hit it with some of that varnish. That way those 4xs would appear to float a bit more.

• wantonamara Z8 CenTex
    Original Author
    10 years ago

It will grey down in a month to the color of the deck. I thought about staining the stringer too but decided against it. I look ahead to what will happen. Maybe I should have pre stained them dark. I am not taking them apart now. I did not have any dark stain on hand.

• camellia1_gw
    10 years ago

That's a great idea! I didn't think about that.

Last week, I went to look for something to roll my stand in and out of the house because we have fluctuating weather around here lately...freezing then above freezing.