Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brown_panda

Succulent ID needed (ice plant family), please help

brown_panda
9 years ago

Hi, this is my first time to post here. I spend hours researching on any plant I get but this one has got me stumped, I've been at it for days. I'm sure it's a mesemb, an ice plant but i can't even pinpoint if it's a lampranthus, carpobrotus, delosperma or a malephora!

I know it looks pitiful, it was actually one of the last of its kind at the nursery and it looked so interesting i just had to get it. It took me over a month to decide to repot it because i wanted to be sure about its ID and provide the right soil and setting for it.

Finally, I just used sandy soil, put it in a cement pot and placed it in a part of our yard that gets bright sunlight all day. I live in a tropical country but it's the cool season now so it probably gets less direct sun than it should? I also watered it when it got dusty dry but the leaves don't look at all that plump to me. (I'm either a too fussy or too wayward a gardener.)

This might be common in other countries so please, any help will be appreciated. Thanks!

Comments (11)

• brown_panda
    Original Author
    9 years ago

A pic of the same plant repotted. I really want to make it thrive and, of course, bloom.

• rosemariero
    9 years ago

I would guess a Corpuscularia, with unusually long leaves...perhaps C. britteniae or C. lehmannii.

• brown_panda
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Oh my. That wasn't even in my initial research. It was frustrating since at times all i could see online were the flowers.