Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ange2006

re-rooting large aloe?

ange2006
10 years ago

I have an aloe growing inside a good size pot. I like the size of the aloe in proportion to the size of the pot and I don't want it to get any bigger. I am thinking of cutting off some of the bottom leaves and the roots then put it in the same pot. My questions are:

1. Will it re-root?
2. How long will it take to re-root in cold weather?
3. Do I need to let it dry (for how long) before re-potting?
4. Once re-potted, how often should I water?

Thank you for your advise.

Ange

Comments (8)

• Crenda 10A SW FL
    10 years ago

What kind of Aloe do you have and how big is the pot? Is it root bound? That may make a difference in advice you get from our experts on the forum (I am NOT an expert!) And of course, a picture will always help.

I have trimmed back roots on an Aloe, but if I understand you correctly, you want to remove all the roots and start again? That I have never done, so obviously cannot advise you.

On trimming the roots - sometimes it was my choice and sometimes I had no choice because they were severely rootbound. Either way, I let the roots callus over for several days to a week before replanting the Aloe in a gritty mix. I waited another week before watering. It all worked out for me, but as I said I am not an expert.

• camellia1_gw
    10 years ago

My aloe had developed a long stalk after the lower leaves dried up through the years. I cut off the top and potted it up about 1 1/2 months, ago. It took about 2 weeks for the roots to develop.

You would probably need to keep it somewhere warm. Temps were in the 60's when I did this.

I let the top callus for a few days before I potted it up.

• wantonamara Z8 CenTex
    10 years ago

Do not water it while there are no roots. It needs roots to absorb the water otherwise it will rot. Misting is good. I have some of my aloe where the roots rot and then it will form new roots, but I need to let it dry out first.