Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fluffyclou

Need Advice for Upcoming Winter Weather!

FluffyClou
10 years ago

Hello! I am still fairly new to succulents~~
I have been reading the posts here and learned a lot :))

I am just wondering, I live in LA County and all my succulents are outside. Will they be able to survive the winter temperature outside?? And, if it so happens that the plants did not survive winter, it does not mean that they are totally "dead," right? I mean, will they revive when spring comes??

I was thinking about transferring the plants indoors for the winter but I don't think I can - lots of factors to consider about this one :(

Thanks!

Comments (23)

• wantonamara Z8 CenTex
    10 years ago

It really maters on the species. different plants, different hardiness extremes., different ways to handle cold damage. Somethings bounce back, others rot and die. There is no one answer.

• FluffyClou
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks, Mara!
    I'll observe the plants and see what happens.

• wantonamara Z8 CenTex
    10 years ago

Do you know your species?

• FluffyClou
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Yes, I was able to get ID from this forum.
    I have done some reading about these particular ones:

Aeonium
    Anacampseros tlephiastrum variegata "sunrise"
    Aloe Harlana
    Aloe "Minnie Belle" Aloe Hybrid

This next set I have just acquired so I haven't done any research about them yet:

Mammillaria elongata hybrid
    Ruschia karroica
    Crassula Tom Thumb
    Mammillaria gracilis
    Kalanchoe tubiflora (mother of thousands)
    Gymnocalycium delaetii
    Sempervivum calcarem
    Haworthia retusa acuminata variegata (white ghost)

Thanks! I hoped I typed or got the names correct.

• wantonamara Z8 CenTex
    10 years ago