Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shelblev_gw

First Succulent Purchase - Help!

shelblev
10 years ago

I am a novice to gardening and just picked up my very first plant. I knew that I wanted to purchase some succulents because I have always admired them, but I went to the only place I could think of - Lowes. I purchased this "cactus and succulent assortment" and then skipped home only to find out that I may have made a mistake. After doing some more research on how to care for these plants, I realize that I didn't make the best choice, but I'm wondering if anyone has any advice as to what to do?

I assumed - "How easy! It's already potted and ready to go!"

-_-

What is my first step? Should I start breaking away at the glued rock chunks to repot it for these suckers to have any chance of survival? Or is it possible for them to survive in this? With the glued rocks I think it would be hard to water (if even possible) or it would at least be hard to tell when the soil is dry and I need to water it again.

(Also, if anyone could assist me with ID, that would be helpful!)

Help!

Comments (5)

• Crenda 10A SW FL
    10 years ago

Welcome to the forum! I bought a similar pot. No drainage hole, either? Yes, the plants are set up for failure, but never fear. You can get them out of there. You have some pretty plants.

Some people have gotten the rocks wet and removed them. I used a butter knife at the edge and pried the rocks loose. After you get them started they can crumble or come off in chunks. Be careful not to damage your plant stems when doing this. It's not as difficult as it looks, but it does take some patience. I washed the rocks and reused them as top dressing after repotting.

You can separate your plants into different pots. There are plenty of suggestions on this forum for soil mixes to use. You can search this forum and do ask questions. People are willing to help guide you.