Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mittengirl_gw

Most reliable place to purchase Schlums?

MittenGirl
10 years ago

I am looking for a Samba Brazil, and some of the other unique colors. The only stores near me that sell Schlums are HD, Lowe's, and Walmart. I am willing to order, but the only place I have found them are on Ebay.

I am also looking for cuttings of a real Schlum if anyone has some they are willing to offer. Unfortunately I am just getting into house plants, so I have nothing to offer for trade.

Thanks all!

This post was edited by MittenGirl on Wed, Nov 13, 13 at 8:03

Comments (136)

• MittenGirl
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Well I got my plants from Bob's today. I was not expecting them! I had been looking for a shipping notice, but maybe I missed it. The Samba is a nice rooted plant with a couple of stems, and a couple of buds, no flowers. The Vila Velha is pretty large, looks like it was a 4" pot, with some buds as well. Not sure they will open for me with all the travel and cold temps, and change in environment. But if they do I will take pics and figure out how to post them. :)

No extras for me! :(

They look like they are in a peat based mix. Do you guys still try to remove it when repotting or just pot them up to reduce stress?

• chloeasha
    10 years ago

Ah-ha! So maybe the trick to extras is to call with a question and speak to a person :)

So hmm. I would probably just leave them in that soil, but iirc, you're a heavier waterer-- so you could just repot now, knowing it may cause bud drop. Or you could wait on disturbing the root ball until afterward? I just presented you with no actual answers there lol.

• MittenGirl
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Looks like I have three arms on My Samba, and a lot my more on the Vila.

What type of planter do you guys use? Plastic or Terracotta?

• chloeasha
    10 years ago