Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gramadea

Container question.

gramadea
11 years ago

I am rather new to growing cacti/succulents and have a ? about containers. I have searched this site and learned a lot. The importance of drainage is stressed over and over but I see so many photos that show the plants growing in containers without drainage holes of any kind. So I am confused. How does one get good drainage in those closed containers? What am I missing? Thanks.

Dea

Comments (20)

• gramadea
    Original Author
    11 years ago

How deep does this layer need to be?? Thanks. I have some nice things I could use for containers but want to give the c&s proper homes.

Dea

• Brandon Smith
    11 years ago

I have become quite familiar with masonry bits and my power drill. That way, you can make any pot a drainable pot. Just take care to not break the pot while drilling the holes. I have even done this on glass jars that were candles. That's very tough but possible with patience.

• wantonamara Z8 CenTex
    11 years ago

holes good. No holes bad. Things are not what they appear.

• jojosplants
    11 years ago

Drainage holes are a must! some people use what is called a cache pot. with another sitting inside with holes.

IMO~ using a layer of something in the bottom is just bad news waiting to happen.

I have a ton of containers needing holes and I am waiting to get the drill bit.

JoJo

• karyn1
    11 years ago

I wouldn't recommend using a container that didn't have drainage. I use my little Dremel to drill holes in containers that don't have any. It can take a while and the bit usually heats up but I've never had one crack while drilling it. I've never tried to drill into glass.

• nil13
    11 years ago

Putting cacti and succulents in pots without drainage holes is asking for trouble, Gravel and potshards don't work. They just make the pot smaller.