Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
central_cali369

Encouraging a second bloom from Aloes?

Central_Cali369
10 years ago

Hello,

I have been growing several different aloes for about 5 years now. I've had the pleasure of growing many beautiful plants from small seedlings and seeing them mature and bloom. However, I think I am at a disadvantage in terms of my location with Aloe Ferox and Aloe Hercules. My A. ferox has produced a bloom spike for three consecutive years now, but it always puts it out around December, which is when we typically have temperatures cold enough to kill the flower spike while it's still developing. This year, I noticed my Aloe "Hercules", which is over 9 feet tall, put out it's first flower spike around the same time. This last arctic blast we had in North America brought our overnight low temperatures to 22 degrees F for several nights kiling both flower spikes. Interestingly enough, Aloe arborescens and Aloe rooikappie continue to bloom without a hint of damage.

Is there a way to encourage a second bloom from these two aloes? If they only set flower spikes a month later there wouldn't be a problem.

Thanks for any input.

Comments (6)

• hanzrobo
    10 years ago

The only thing I can think of is to fertilize. If your Aloes are already blooming for you, they probably don't need more sun - the cure for an Aloe that doesn't bloom at all. You could give them something a little heavier on the P & K, like a 2-10-10. Phosphorous encourages blooms while Potassium helps a plant to function properly - like taking vitamins.

To put it VERY simply:
    Nitrogen = power
    Phosphorous = fertility & root development
    Potassium = health