Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
outspokenagain

Succulents curling under- possibily lack of sunlight?

outspokenagain
9 years ago

So I'm relatively new at growing succulents. Only had mine for half a year.

From what I've read, these succulents that are curling under are having a lack of sunlight? I currently live in an apartment, with all the windows North facing. I've attached a little layout of my apartment below. would it be better if i left them every day for a couple hours/for a whole day once a week in the bigger window in the living room? The window they're by now is king of blocked by the building but I thought it was enough light.

Also, I live in an apartment building, so I can't leave them outside to get more light. :( I do go to my parents once a week, so would it be good if I took them there and left them in a more direct window light for a whole day?

It's winter right now and I don't know if they'll do well in Utah weather. And I've also posted a picture of my succulents in the post below this one.

Thank you for your assistance in advance!

Comments (9)

• outspokenagain
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Picture of succulents:

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23
    9 years ago

1. Your pot is way way too large for the plant. It will rot in there.
    2. What is the potting media?
    3. Can you buy a grow light for it?

• deva33 Z8 Atlanta
    9 years ago

I agree with hoovb. It will need a smaller pot, faster draining soil, and absolutely needs more light. Handle that first then I suggest repotting in the Spring. Because of the size of the pot & the soil you will need to be very careful not to overwater. Can you try putting them in your living room window? Unfortunately north facing windows are the worst for the only light source for succulents. I suggest a grow light to get them through winter. Or your parents place it that is reasonable.

• outspokenagain
    Original Author
    9 years ago