Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kaktuskris

San Pedro Query

kaktuskris
12 years ago

Last year a neighbor gave me his San Pedro cactus (Echinopsis pachanoi, syn. Trichocereus pachanoi,) because he did not have enough light for it, and it had become etiolated. I promptly beheaded the etiolated segment, and a nice long pup developed. I want to remove the arm and root it next Spring if I have a good chance of success. If I remove it, a new pup should develop, right?

I would like to increase my San Pedro, but I value this one, and don't want to risk losing it. Any San Pedro experts on the forum who could advise me on this? Does this cactus root as easily as they say on a certain website where this is plant is sold for other purposes?

Christopher

Comments (10)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    12 years ago

I am not an expert, but I know that it roots freely!
    I know of a local professor who chops it up and starts it all over his medicinal garden.

Josh

• hijole
    12 years ago

Kactuskris, I think you will be happy to know that this species will grow on its own almost, let me explain I have actually cut columes off and sat them down on the ground forgot about them and they started rooting right there where they lay, and started shooting new growth straight up from where they were. I even left some inside my garage on the floor to actually collect a skeleton of this species which looks interesting and low and behold it started growing, although the shape was funny looking at any rate it was still trying to survive. I think your only real problem would be to much water & not enough light. Greg

• kaktuskris
    Original Author
    12 years ago

OK, then, looks like I will be doing some chopping come Spring!

Christopher

• norma_2006
    12 years ago