Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jadegarden_gw

Bed of aloes

jadegarden
18 years ago

I posted this in the Discussion forum but now think I should have put it here in the Gallery.

I have been working on creating an "aloe bed" in my garden. This is what I have done so far.

I have aloes, gasterias, and maybe haworthias (sanseveria too) - none are identified except the aloe vera.

{{gwi:466118}}

I got these new aloes (brevifolia, striata, ferox, and some hybrids) and have potted them up into 4" pots for the time being.

{{gwi:466119}}

Does anyone have any ideas on when it is best to put them into the ground? Is it better to put them out now - or to wait until they are larger?

Any help will be appreciated becasue I have very little experience with aloes - but seeing all those postings of beautiful aloes finally got the better of me.

Comments (6)

• jeffrey_harris
    18 years ago

It would be best to put them in the ground in the Spring, the beginning of most Aloes' growing season.

If you have very good drainage, I'd put them all in the ground.

Looking at your first pic reminded me of a mistake I made. These plants quickly overgrow their areas, given sun, ample water and heat. I'd be careful how many of any particular species I put in the ground, unless you plan on being to plant them out in large areas.

Plants almost always grow better in the ground rather than in the pot, though young ones and cuttings may better be served in a pot, at least until they're established/older.

• jadegarden
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Jeff,

Thanks for letting me know that I made a mistake. The problem is, if I leave too much empty space, the dogs get in and start digging like crazy. Several plants didn't survive my first effort and I've had the area under mesh since then.