Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elpaninaro

Carnegiea gigantea- photos, root questions

elpaninaro
18 years ago

Hi all,

The big kid arrived today- just barely fit into a 3 foot long box and over 50 pounds. The plant looks beautiful, but the roots are quite a bit fewer in number and more dried out than I expected. This is my first time using the gallery forum, so I will try to upload shots of both the total plant (in box, I am waiting for help to get it out) and then a closeup up the roots. Any commentary on the rootstock and any special treatment I need to give is most welcome. Thanks! Tom.

Image link:

Comments (9)

• imjustgil
    18 years ago

Did it come from calplants? I got several large plants from them last year. In fact, one Ferocactus (litispinis) came in with a short tap root and a small trailing root. I treated the plant like any other, and disinfected, added root hormone and potted it into its new home. I didn't water for about two weeks... it took about a month before I saw any actual new growth, but it did and is still doing wonderfully.

Gil

• shrubs_n_bulbs
    18 years ago

Doesn't look great. Make sure that the brown area is firm and it should be able to grow new roots. The small brown roots don't look alive to me, but if they are then it will recover faster. You will basically have to treat it as a cutting and re-root it.

Here are the roots you can expect on even a small healthy F. latispinus. Imagine what there should be on a three foot Saguaro!
    {{gwi:466731}}

• elpaninaro
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thank you both for your comments. These did just come via mail from an eBay seller- and I should note that the photos showed root systems about like these. So there was not any deception.

I think just seeing them in person kind of got me wondering. The plants (this is the largest of 3- and the other 2 have dried roots, but far more extensive) were sure larger than I expected lol- so the few roots on this one worried me.