Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jadegarden_gw

Euphorbia horrida?

jadegarden
17 years ago

I have these both labelled as Euphorbia horrida but now I see the flowers are different. Can anyone tell me whether these are really both horrida? And if not - what?

{{gwi:469969}}{{gwi:469971}}

Thanks for your help.

Comments (16)

• biwako_of_abi
    17 years ago

I'm not an expert, but my horrida has plenty of spines, so my vote goes to the one in the bottom picture. The other one, maybe E. anoplia? Frank, Euphorbia.de, can you help us?

• greenlarry
    17 years ago

Theyre both fantastic plants!

• jadegarden
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Strangely enough, the one at the top is the one I bought with a horrida label - the other one I had before and had IDed as horrida. I figured the first one just looked so pale because of the conditions in the store but now it is growing and has displayed a different flower - hence my question.

• baldric
    17 years ago

Hello,

Neither ar Euphorbia horridia in my opinion .

The plant on the left is a hybrid of E horridia, known as E.snowflake.I have one.
    I also have an E.horridia and it is plain green.

The other plant also seems to be a hybrid of E. horridia but that's just a guess.

Baldric

• jadegarden
    Original Author
    17 years ago

I looked up "Snowflake" and found horrida Snowflake and polygona Snowflake. Are these the same, or different?

I saw some E. horrida "Snowflake" photos that do look like mine above (same flowers) so that might be right. But what about polygona?

• paracelsus
    17 years ago

I think Baldric is right, they are probably hybrids of horrida, or maybe E. polygona. There are quite a few variants of E. horrida on the market today.

Altman's plants sells the blue form shown above as E. polygona 'snowflake'. The second plant does look like a variety of E. horrida, possibly E. horrida nova or E. horrida major nova. Neither is E. anoplia, which is smooth and banded.