Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
glasslady55

how to care for cacti?

glasslady55
17 years ago

I'm new to growing cacti, just planted a cacti dish garden with 4 different varieties, 2 succulents and 2 prickly's. How often do I water and how do I tell when to water?

Comments (3)

• User
    17 years ago

It really depends on the answers to the following questions:

1.) How much sun do they get?
    2.) How warm are you keeping them?
    3.) How big is the dish garden container?
    4.) What is the consistency of the soil?
    5.) Does the dish garden have a drainage hole?
    6.) Are the cacti outside or inside?
    7.) What time of the year is it?

Assuming you have the dish garden is in decent light (southern exposure) and the dish garden is not excessively large I would say once a week should be plenty this time of year. If your dish garden does not have a drainage hole, be very careful watering. Normally, when I water my cacti, I soak them thoroughly but you can't do this without a drainage hole.

• shrubs_n_bulbs
    17 years ago

In summer, water when the soil is dry and not before. In winter water less or not at all. Works for pretty much any cactus. Some succulents prefer to stay more moist, some like water in winter, some are dormant in summer, a few need less water than the cacti. Mostly, succulents and cacti don't mix well in a dish for very long.

• cactijoe
    17 years ago