Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
atsar_gw

help identifying cacti

atsar
17 years ago

i just inherited these cacti,can anyone tell me what they are?thanks.

Image link:

Comments (15)

• shrubs_n_bulbs
    17 years ago

Looks like a partially reverted cristate Opuntia.

• atsar
    Original Author
    17 years ago

what you mean by partially reverted?i'm new to this stuff,there's another cactus in the pot with it too,i believe one of themmay have been damaged as a young plant

• atsar
    Original Author
    17 years ago

{{gwi:475555}}
    dont know if this pic is any better

• shrubs_n_bulbs
    17 years ago

Yes, the mangled irrgeular looking growth in the centre looks like it was cristate. You can look up examples on google but I'm pretty sure it was supposed to be like that. The cyclindrical growth on the left is the normal habit of the species, although probably a little stretched. The leaves at the tips of the growth identify it as definitely an Opuntia but I have no idea which one. You might want to remove all the normal growth and try to just maintain the cristate bits. You can root some of the normal growth and have a plant like that too.

The other cactus looks like a Parodia. Probably best to put it in its own pot.

• atsar
    Original Author
    17 years ago

some of the cylinders have split 2 and 3 ways at their tops,like branches,should i leave them?and i think there's possibly a 3rd cactus at the backseems to be seperate from the rest and looks kinda different

• steve_nz
    17 years ago

I'm not sure about the exact species but it is similar to
    http://www.desert-tropicals.com/Plants/Cactaceae/Opuntia_subulata.html
    but without the fleshy bits on the areoles. I have the same one in my garden although it is not crestate.
    If you want to retain the crestate form, then cut off the normal growths or they will take over in time. You can root the cuttings to form new plants.