Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ashcls

They Say You Always Remember Your First

ashcls
18 years ago

I have taken on the task of finally cataloging my cacti and succulents so I can have a record of changes.

While I was taking the photos, the thought came to me that this was the first cactus to start it all. A friend gave me this mamm 2-1/2 years ago. It has grown in leaps and bounds. (was only in a 2 inch pot and has been through 2 transplants since then)

I had never been able to keep plants alive and fell in love. This was the plant that started my "afflication".

So I was curious if anyone else still has the "first" and if they would share photos. Just thought it might be fun. I realize some people here have been doing this a long long time (I am just a newbie) but it seemed like a fun idea.

{{gwi:486314}}

{{gwi:486315}}

Comments (30)

• ariole
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Oh yes! I remember my first. It was not a cactus but I thought it was -- it was a Jade plant, Crassula ovata, It grew from a single leaf and I was ever so proud. That little leaf already had a few roots protruding when my great aunt gave it to me. That was almost 60 years ago. And I remember the first time it bloomed. It was probably 10 years old and I left it outside way too long that summer. It was almost nipped by frost. The same great aunt was having Thanksgiving dinner with my family and the very first flower opened that day. I remember her telling me that her plant never bloomed. I was so eager for her to see my plant in full flower when she returned for Christmas but it was not to be, she died before Christmas. But my plant and my memory of her live on. Being afflicted with 'the collector virus' I once had every mutated form of C. ovata I could find. I'm now back to only the original and it survives in a 5" pot. And it won't be blooming this Thanksgiving, perhaps next year.

Al

• ariole
    18 years ago