Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jadegarden_gw

ID for plants

jadegarden
18 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to this and hope someone can help me id these plants. I think I have figured out how to link the photos properly.

{{gwi:491480}}
Gymnocalycium??

{{gwi:462900}}
Gymnocalycium??

{{gwi:491481}}
Cereus

{{gwi:491482}}
Rebutia??

Jan

Comments (10)

• shrubs_n_bulbs
    18 years ago

I'd like to go with Gymnocalycium anisitsii for the first one. This has become a bit of a catchall species and so you might get some other names which are effectively the same plant.

I always think G. bruchii when I see a clumping Gymno and you'rs might be that but I'm not sure. Many forms have pink flowers and are densely spined but some look like your's.

The last one might be a Sulcorebutia rather than a Rebutia, if that narrows it down any :)

• jadegarden
    Original Author
    18 years ago

I haven't seen any G. bruchii looking like this - the spines seem very different. I have another very similar plant but it clumps differently and has never bloomed.

Some books put sulcorebutia with rebutia - Arenacea is the closest I've seen looking like #4 but I'm not sure.

• cactusdan19
    18 years ago

Jan,
    Nice plants. The Cereus looks like it could be Monvillea spegazzinii, often sold as grafted crestate plants. Known for it's mottled bluish skin and the flower looks right too.
    Dan

• steve_nz
    18 years ago

The third one is Monvillea.
    The second one reminds me of G.damsii which is see is now G. anisitsii. Certainly it exhibits the pupping seen in the pic.

• billinsc
    18 years ago

The second one is without question in my mind, G damsii. Here is my G damsii. It has never had the dark color I see in some such as yours. I heard somewhere, but not yet confirmed, that they get very red in low light situations of winter, but mine is about the same as it has always been. Here it is in a 4 1/2 inch pot..
    {{gwi:491483}}
    Bill in SC

• jadegarden
    Original Author