Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
toffee_el

What grows well in Palm Desert

toffee-el
13 years ago

I am new to Palm Desert area and want to know what grow well here. Very short and warm winter, 120+ deg summer, being desert means sandy soil?

Comments (5)

• hosenemesis
    13 years ago

The Coachella Valley Water District has some nice photos of gardens in your area. They may give you an idea of what to plant.

Renee

Here is a link that might be useful: Coachella Water District Photos

• sautesmom Sacramento
    13 years ago

The best nursery for checking out plants is Moller's:

Moller's Garden Center
    72-235 Painter's Path
    Palm Desert

Carla in Sac

• eureka
    13 years ago

My son owns a home there. I thought that looking at the various restuarants in the area was a great source of planting ideas as they want to look great from outside in. You do have sandy soil so building it up with other soil improvement products would help. I think from pure beauty, your area can come up with gorgeous colors in planting.

• Billford
    13 years ago

Hi "toffe-el" and belated happy B-Day

I live in Joshua Tree and learning about what to plant up here. As already mentioned, check with your local water district and look around your immediate well established neighborhoods for signs of successful landscapes. You ask for "what will work" in your Palm Desert... but that would take up a few hundred lines to list.

For certain, you should learn what your average temps are over the course of a year and look around for signs of winds. This means driving around and observing which way trees and similar plants tend to "lean". Many plants root shallow and/or may be easily damaged by high winds. Others may be damaged by sunburn. Keep in mind that trees, shrubs and similar "shade" plants that grow fast usually are also brittle and subject to wind damage.