Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
soaht

Anyone successfully grown papaya from seed to fruit in Cen Ca?

soaht
11 years ago

Has any one successfully grown papaya from seeds to fruiting stage in Central Ca, especially in Fresno or the likes? I am currently growing some waimanalo(sp?) that are about 2 inches now. Can I expect to get fruits with in the same year after I plant them in ground this spring and expect the fruits to be tree ripen or will I just get unripe green fruits when winter comes? And are these dwarf, because the description I read online said this is a low bearing type which will bear when it's only 3'-4' but mature plants will reach 10'+? This is my first time growing a papaya plant, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Seng

Comments (9)

• MrClint
    11 years ago

A quick search reveals your chances of success.

Here is a link that might be useful: Search: growing papaya from seed zone 9 california

• stanofh 10a Hayward,Ca S.F. bay area
    11 years ago

The answer is ..no.
    BUT! If you are determined,you can try growing them in the hot sun all summer,then build some kind of coldframe around them,add a small heater. I have read of that being done in the valley. As I recall,he did get ripe fruit. But I think the effort and heating costs was a one year effort.
    And as another post about this jogged my memory,he had TR Hovey papayas. Hard to find.

• soaht
    Original Author
    11 years ago