Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
garden_noobie

Cape Honeysuckle Hedge Spacing Recommendations

garden-noobie
12 years ago

I'm wanting to grow a Cape Honeysuckle privacy hedge in the space pictured. Once I remove the grass, the first row of stones, and relocate the sprinkler the space between the red line and blue line will be 16 feet and the space between the fence and yellow line will be 3 feet. There will be a gate where the red line is now and that is a very young bearss lime tree on the other side of the blue line. From what I've read I don't want to plant one too close to the lime tree since it might harm it? Some of the info on the web as to spacing for a hedge is confusing, some say 6-8 feet apart some say 3 feet apart. I've searched many of the post here on the forums but unfortunately all the posts with links to pictures are old and broken. Sorry if this question has been answered 1k times, like my name describes me, i'm a total noob...

Thanks in advance.

Oh and i'm in Corona, Ca. If that makes a diff.
{{gwi:503514}}From Garden Web

Comments (15)

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    12 years ago

The Tecomaria capensis or Cape Honeysuckle is a rampant grower that will easily fill in if planted 8 feed apart. In your picture you indicate some planting between it and the fence, but that space will be overwhelmed by your hedge. The bloom on the Tecomaria is on the end of the new growth and keeping it in shape usually results in preventing most of the bloom. Al

• garden-noobie
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Sorry, if I wasn't clear. From what I understand, the Cape Honeysuckle can be shaped into a hedge or left to scramble.
    I want to grow a honeysuckle hedge in the entire area area between the red line, blue line, yellow line and fence.
    I'd like it to be about 6 feet tall. I've read they're a lot of work to maintain but we need the privacy for our swimming pool,
    babies and an overly sensitive neighbor's dog.

• gobluedjm 9/18 CA