Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
grilledcheese818

Newbie: non-poisonious flowering vine to cover cement block wall

grilledcheese818
15 years ago

Hello,

I'm a newbie to gardening/landscaping. I just purchased my first home in Southern California (Yorba Linda, ca).

The house has a beige cement block wall. I thought flowering ivy/vine would be an inexpensive way to cover it (I've thought about stucco... but that would be a fortune).

I have a dog so, I need something which is non poisonous.

I also need to cover about 200 feet in wall which is about 6 feet high.

Could anyone suggest an option for a vine/ivy which would stay green all year round?... the flowering would be a bonus.

Also how far to I need to space the plant?

Thanks!

Comments (12)

• Central_Cali369
    15 years ago

You have many options to consider, don't limit yourself to ivy - leave that for those in colder climates who are limited in plants they can use. I'm sure someone close to you will chime in and give some suggestions. There are a couple i could suggest but you would need to set up a series of tellises and that could be expensive. Coral Vine, Pink Bower vine, Lavendar Trumpet Vine, Madagascar Jasine...

• stanofh 10a Hayward,Ca S.F. bay area
    15 years ago

Mexican blood red trumpet vine would do it. No thorns either.Drought tolerant as I have seen them cover a quarter mile of chainlink fence parallel to railroad tracks.

• hosenemesis
    15 years ago

If you would like something that will attach itself to the concrete block you are a bit limited.

Most flowering vines need support, and most grow to the top of the wall and lose all of their leaves down below, flowering only on the top.