Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cetacea33

Makeover my retaining wall?

cetacea33
10 years ago

Hi all,
I'm a newbie so this is a project I probably shouldn't undertake, but I'd be interested to hear what you veterans would do with this space. Or lack thereof, haha....

I'm in Los Angeles, 10a, and am tired of the endless row of agapanthus and society garlic (?) that was in place along our retaining wall bordering the back yard when we moved in. Most of the year it's just a bunch of blades.

I hired a landscape designer to help me, showed her my sort of dream garden (a la High Country Gardens pics). She recommended alternating agapanthus with pink stripe New Zealand flax the entire length of the wall. I was disappointed on several levels with that. It's a tough space, limited in width by proximity to a pool. It gets a lot of sun all afternoon, though one end is somewhat shaded by the height of the wall and an oak on the hill. That part could be made deeper/wider.

I've been lurking here and on Las Pilitas, Annie's, and Flowers by the Sea, thinking about a more native direction, but cottage-y, so more like salvias than succulents.

I will try to attach a pic of the area. There's a lot going wrong botanically...such as the utter destruction of the grass by our yearling Great Dane...another topic for another forum. The marguerite daisy and the rosemary are my additions and I love them.

My questions would be:
-how do you all physically accomplish these sorts of things? I don't think I can personally exhume even one of the big agapanthus!
-plant suggestions? Would you try to rely on evergreen things and then mix in some herbaceous and annuals?
-design wise, would you try to create a long pattern that repeats a couple times, for continuity? Or not so much?

I also have a little baby and hope to expand the family, so nothing poisonous. Thanks in advance!!

Comments (7)

• nil13
    10 years ago