Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
socal_nikki

ground cover for huge backyard steep slope

socal_nikki
16 years ago

Hi!

I am new to gardening, this website and california. I have a huge slope in my backyard and want to put flowering ground cover. Something which has evergreen foilage and may be a good mix of flowering and greens. Any suggestions are very much appreciated. My slope has a sprinkler system.

Thanks

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:511165}}

Comments (22)

• gobluedjm 9/18 CA
    16 years ago

Pick up a Western Garden book first since new to CA.
    By your name I assume you are in socal, so also pick up Pat Welsh's Southern Calfornia Gardening.
    I have a small slope area and my nursery suggested Myoporum and comes in white and pink and it is stays low for walking on it.
    You could go native and there are lots that flower, that will definately save on water.
    There is the freeway daisy and is multicolored. After a few years it can get woody and need to be torn out and it will grow back. It was on part of my slope and I tore it out was all woody and I am still pulling up seedlings.

• kathi_mdgd
    16 years ago

Ice plant is a good one and comes in several colors,it's beautiful when it blooms and also serves as a fire retardent.
    Kathi

• kelpmermaid
    16 years ago

Given the size of the area, you really might want to look into native plants. Gobluedjm is right about the water bill, and you might also want something with a good root system. You might want to look at low growing ceanothus or manzanitas...the Theodore Payne website has native plant library that will sort by use, water needs, etc.

• sumcool
    16 years ago

I agree on myoporum, and possibly iceplant.
    Ceanothus is beautiful, but if you lose one, there's a big hole.
    If you're not from California, you probably need a warning to watch out for gophers. They're not supposed to like ceanothus, but I've lost seversl to those hungry little guys.