Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
farmerkevin

Do I NEED a type B avocado? What to plant for year round harvest?

farmerkevin
10 years ago

I'm planting a mexicola, hass and lamb hass avocado. All type A's (?)

I would like avocados year round. So what else should I plant, that is a type B, that would give me year round avocados? I can get fuerte, bacon or zutano (sp?)

This is my first attempt at avocados. Well, second because my first hass died after a freeze.

Thanks in advance :)

Comments (11)

• Jay Part Shade (Zone 10B, S21, Los Angeles)
    10 years ago

If you're having freeze issues and your hass are dying, you need to be careful. Look at pages like the one listed below for info on cold toleration of various varieties.

That said, forget the mexicola, bacon, zutano, etc. If you want to grow for flavor and year around production, stick with hass, lamb hass, gwen, jan boyce for A-type. For B-type, go with Sir Prize, Sharwil, fuerte.

Also, these trees get huge. Despite what most people say, you can prune heavily to keep the trees in really compact shapes. If you do that, then you can cover the trees during the worst cold snaps.

Here is a link that might be useful: Avocado temps

• farmerkevin
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Frost killed the first hass because I planted it late in the season. It didn't have enough time to come out of planting shock before winter hit.

I am on my phone and am having trouble going to that webpage.

I'm actually hoping that they get huge. I'm planting them a bit close to make a privacy wall. They'll be on a slope, so they should do well.

Never heard of sir prize. When does it ripen? My favorite nursery/fruit stand had a sir prize avocado the other day. The fruit, not tree lol. Looked interesting.

• gregbradley
    10 years ago

I'm concerned about Avocados anywhere that freezes every year.