Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
medha_nanal

In-ground Misty Blueberries: need help from experienced folks..

homey_bird
13 years ago

Hi,

I planted four varieties of bareroot blueberry saplings about one month back.

I am not a newbie when it comes to blueberries -- I've had them in the container for ~5 years now and they've been very productive all along.

But this is my first experience planting them in the ground. I have Misty, Jubilee, ONeil varieties.

The problem I have is with the Misty bush. While all others have been responding favorably to same treatment, Misty has suffered. All the leaves have burnt appearance, dried edges and there's no new growth of buds on it. The other three have new leaves budding and existing leaves are a healthy green.

For one Jubilee and the sick Misty, I mistakenly applied regular fruit fertilizer (oops!) Both made it very clear to me that they hated it. So I immediately followed it with water mixed with vinegar and later, regular Azalea+Camellia fertilizer. This alone has been sufficient to my container blueberries.

My questions to those who're experienced:

1. On this site, a number of folks have cited good experience with watering blueberries with Vinegar+water. However, some have mentioned that this effect is not long lasting to maintain acidity. Is it desirable to continue this in addition to acidifier applied to the soil?

2. For container, as mentioned, just Azalea/Camellia fertilizer is sufficient. For in ground bushes, will it be enough or should I apply acidifier?

Thanks in advance!

Comments (5)

• hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA
    13 years ago