Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elsch

asian pear ultra dwarf pacific grove from OSH

elvie z9CA
14 years ago

I picked up a bagged 20th century asian pear on ultra dwarf rootstock grown by pacific grove at OSH and am wondering if this is a good choice for the SF Bay Area, in El Sobrante. The tag said self pollinating. I am not looking for heavy fruit production, medium to light would be just fine.

I am new to fruit trees, and do seem to remember reading somewhere about the insignificance of ultra dwarf rootstocks, that its more about pruning. I do want it to remain small. They also had one on semi dwarf rootstock. Which is the better choice, and am I likely to have luck with the quality of fruit tree from OSH.

Thanks!

Comments (5)

• Dick_Sonia
    14 years ago

I'm not really sure what you mean by "ultra dwarf." Every rootstock has its own name. Pacific Grove uses either seedling rootstock or one of four named rootstocks for grafting: Winter Nellis, Pyrus betulaefolia, OHF 97 and OHF 333. The name should be on the plastic tag that's around the stem.

As for the quality of OSH, they are just a pass-through retailer, a temporary handler. Personally, I'm not a fan of bagged fruit trees, but I don't see anything wrong with your decision. Rootstock choice is based partly on soil conditions and other liabilities of your particular site, e.g. wind exposure, fireblight susceptibility, etc.

Here is a link that might be useful: PG rootstocks

• sautesmom Sacramento
    14 years ago