Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laurelzito

What is the last cold date for San Francisco?

Laurel Zito
13 years ago

I am trying to plant a white dome hydrangea. I can only get them online. The seller said after last frost date. I don't wish to alarm, but in 2009 year I lost an annabelle, due to the DEC. 7 freeze, but it said that was only 42 degrees. I need to get this planted as early as possible to off set the chance of a Dec. cold day taking it out.

But, if I plant too soon, it would die from a cold day in the spring. They are more likely to die when not established.

I have a weather blog and I have been posting weather conditions for a few years. So, I am just putting a link here, if I find out what the last so called frost day will be, I will post it. I did not find anything when I googled it, maybe because we don't even have days under 32, normally at all. Since I have been growing more tropicals it becomes more important to keep track of these things.

Here is a link that might be useful: My San Francisco Weather Blog

Comments (12)

• Laurel Zito
    Original Author
    13 years ago

That link directs one to daves garden, I don't like daves garden. I don't use daves garden at all. I spend time upload my photos to help them with a data base, and then they were so rude to me and they refused to allow me to delete the photos when I quit.

I am really annoyed, and I wish I could delete your post. This is the Garden Web, the bigger and better site, and Daves Garden is the wanta be site, that mostly cators to gardener from the southern states.

I would not believe any thing I from daves garden that was supposted to pertain to San Francisco. I am going to email the moderators about having your post deleted.

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    13 years ago