Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
calmomof3

Novice. Need advice with planter in Nor Cal!

CalMomof3
10 years ago

We just replaced our old bushes with Cordyline Electric Pink, Euphorbia Ascot Rainbow, and Blue Fescues. I realize these plants are young and will grow, but it seems we need something to contrast the cordyline. I feel like we could do more here. Or is it fine how it is? The planter is westward facing, so it needs to tolerate high heat and be as drought-resistant as possible, considering the lack of water we are experiencing in California. Any suggestions are appreciated, as I am a novice and this was my very first gardening attempt. Thank you!

This post was edited by CalMomof3 on Mon, Mar 24, 14 at 11:52

Comments (10)

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    10 years ago

I think your planting is too mechanical, like soldiers in a row. Everything looks healthy, just too rigid, not relaxed. Al

• CalMomof3
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you for your response. We tried to space everything out. I agree with you, though. Its rigid. Maybe once it all grows in, we can adjust or add as necessary. Just not sure what or how.

• princesspea
    10 years ago

I think this looks like a promising combination, I like the tiered bed arrangement. If it feels like you want to do more, something spreading, or trailing, can help full in and soften the currently young plants, although I confess I really like symmetrical planting like this, I think it benefits from an appearance of abundance - I am not very patient for plants to grow and fill in.

I would take a look at: hens and chicks, lambs ear, or yellow alyssum for a fill-in plant, that is easy care, low growing and spreading. Put it near the edges of the bed. I am also a fan of trailing rosemary, however, I feel like it wants a taller wall to spill over, and you did just ditch your old shrubs, you might not want another one!

Pea

• princesspea
    10 years ago