Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hdeleon_gw

What type of tiller is best to use on clay dirt

hdeleon
17 years ago

Hello,

I have a bed about 10'x30' of clay dirt. Very hard. I have fruit trees growing in it already. I would like to be able to make a section of it for vegetable gardening and was wondering if the best thing to do is get rid of the clay dirt and replace with mulch? I did this with my fruit trees and they are doing very well. What type of tiller should I use/rent to get the job done? Im planning on a veggie garden of about 10'x10'.

Thanks for your help,

Hernando

Comments (21)

• Heathen1
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I went and bought a SEARS tiller on sale and it was fine for me. It may not be the limosine of tillers, but it works fine for me

• genghis_bunny
    17 years ago

I'm a newbie gardener, but I have been reading a lot about Lasagna Gardening being successful with hard clay. If you do a search on that method, you will find a lot on interesting info. I am trying it for my veggie garden this year. I'm looking forward to seeing the results.

Here is a link that might be useful: Lasagna Gardening 101

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    17 years ago

Clay is not difficult to till if it is done when the moisture content is just right. Use your shovel and dig a full shovel of your soil, dump it on the ground. If it sticks to the shovel it is too wet to till. If it breaks up when dumped on to a hard surface it is right to till. If you were not able to dig because you could not get the shovel into the soil it is too dry. Water it and test again every day until it is ready to till. Rent a tiller small enough to handle, extra weight will not help. Use this opportunity to incorporate about four inches of compost into your clay. If you mulch twice a year with compost in three years you won't have to till your soil at all. Al

• Heathen1
    17 years ago