Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
imahousenewbie

Are my tulips done?

imahousenewbie
13 years ago

I was given some pretty yellow potted tulips last week as a housewarming gift, since I wanted to start a garden (I'm totally new to gardening, and am trying hard to keep my plants alive! I'll probably be posting tons more questions.)

I planted the tulip bulbs out in the garden after mixing in potting soil, and they looked great for a few days. But now, all the yellow parts have dropped off! It's just 3 empty stems now.

Are tulips really supposed to only last a week, in the spring? Is there anything I can do to make them bloom again? I've seen articles and videos that say you deadhead them once this happens. If I do that, will they bloom again soon, or is it done for the year? I'm a little frustrated.

Comments (9)

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    13 years ago

Are tulips really supposed to only last a week, in the spring?

You'll get 10-14 days if you're lucky. But not when transplanting them when in bloom. Tulips are planted out in fall when dormant.

Is there anything I can do to make them bloom again?

No.

Hopefully, if you are lucky, they will return next year if you leave them in the soil and planted them in the right place, but I wouldn't count on it if you don't know the variety and if it is adapted to your area. Most need winter chilling.

Folks in CA who want spring bulbs like that either:

o choose bulbs adapted to the area and plant in fall,
    o if not adapted, leave them in containers and bring containers to a place where they can get chilled.

Depends on the variety, but that is how it usually goes in warm climates.

Dan

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    13 years ago