Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
artsydiva22

Where to buy grape vines??

artsydiva22
18 years ago

We're finally building a pergola for our yard and would like to find out where we can buy grape vines to grow on them in Southern California. I've searched online, but most sites do not ship to CA. I've also read about starting from cuttings, but I'm pretty new to gardening and am a bit intimidated. Any suggestions about vendors and types of grapes would be most appreciated.

Thank you!

Comments (10)

• gardenguru1950
    18 years ago

Almost every good nursery throughout the state carries grape vines at bare-root season (Dec-Feb) and usually carries potted plants (leftovers) March-Jun. That's assuming you're looking for table grapes.

If you're looking for wine grapes, you might try:

Bay Laurel Nursery
    2500 El Camino Real
    Atascadero, CA 93422
    Tel: 466-6455
    Fax: 805-466-6455
    URL: www.baylaurelnursery.com
    email: info@baylaurelnursery.com

Lon J. Rombough
    P.O. Box 365
    Aurora,OR 97002-0365
    Tel: 503-678-1410
    Wine and table grape cuttings

Sonoma Grapevines
    1919 Dennis Ln
    Santa Rosa, CA 95403
    Tel: 707-542-5510
    Fax: 707-542-4801
    Varietal/table/raisin grapes

Joe

• rickjames
    18 years ago

Depends on what types you want and maybe where you are in CA, but I see them all the time (bare-root) at Walmart, Home Depot, and Lowes. Also OSH, and I have seen them at Costco but that was ?last year or before? They're usually table grapes, but just recently I have seen wine grapes for sale in a 3-pack at w-mart and I have seen wine grapes at Home D. In fact, if you move quick, you may still be able to get bare-roots on clearance around now....