Return to the California Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Hybrid Fruit Tree

Posted by sheax CA (My Page) on
Sat, Mar 3, 07 at 15:21

Hi All,

I am new to this gardening thing but I am getting into it! I recently purchased a house that has a few fruit trees in the back yard. I am told there are 2 apple trees and a plum tree(bare at the moment). There is also a lemon/lime hybrid tree which is bearing fruit. The crazy thing is, there is an orange growing on the back of the same tree! Is this even possible? A tree growing lemons, limes and oranges? There is a tag around the trunk that says Valencia Oranges, although there is currently only one growing that I see. There are quite a few lemons of various sizes all over the tree.

Any help on an explaination would be great!

S

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Hybrid Fruit Tree

• Posted by jean001 z8aPortland, OR (My Page) on
    Sat, Mar 3, 07 at 17:09

Oranges have several crops on the tree at a time. The orange one may well be ready to pick. The yellow ones are turning orange or are in trouble (cut one in half to check), the green ones are too young to be orange.

o

ok but these are different fruit. Literally, there are lemons growing on the same tree as an orange. Not different phases of the same fruit, actual different fruit. Is this possible?

o

You might have what has become known as a "Fruit cocktail" tree.

It's not a hybrid.

It's simply 3, 4, 5 and sometimes 6 cultivars (varieties) of citrus budded ("grafted") onto one central stock.

Common to these marketing gimmicks is that one or more cultivars become overly aggressive and one or more of the cultivars simply fade away, not being able to compete.

Joe

o

Are you sure the orange fruit isn't a ripe Meyer Lemon.... which has an orange skin when ripe. The flavor is a mild lemon with orange undertones. It can have Meyer Lemons in various stages of growth all at the same time.

I guess I didn't understand if the Valencia tag was on this same tree or not.

o