Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
msshelley_gw

Pomona, Claremont, Montclair Gardening

MsShelley
13 years ago

Hello everyone, I am new to this forum and also a new resident in the Northern Part of Pomona. I have been gardening in the Fullerton area for the last 15 years, and am accustomed to clay soil and much warmer climate. The frost is new, and the soil here is very sandy. Without an official test, the soil appears to be about 75% sand, very gritty, with many aggregates, it will ball, but will not ribbon. I planted some impatiens 6 pack starts, too early and they died from the frost, but have replanted and they are still dying. They are on the North side of the house, bright indirect light, I amended the soil with both manure and kellog's "amend." Why would the impatiens wilt, appearing like damping off? Also, would welcome any area specific tips that I can use to help me with this poorly maintained soil and garden I have inherited.

Comments (8)

• kirk1977
    13 years ago

I live just up the street in Claremont so my soil is pretty much the same. I add alot of coco coir and manure to my soil for my raised beds I just bought a few truck loads of soil just to make it easier.

There are some cool gardening groups in the area

http://www.meetup.com/Inland-empire-organic-gardening/

also try to check out the farmers market in claremont on sunday morning it's pretty nice

• kelpmermaid
    13 years ago

You also might want to check out the Rancho Santa Ana Botanical Garden in Claremont with its focus on CA natives. I'd like to get out there again some time.

• skrip
    13 years ago

Hi MsShelley, You must be a neighbor, I live where the 3 cities meet (Pomona, Claremont & Montclair). I'm a fellow Northeast Pomonan, who relocated here from Glendale.