Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tuesdaysheart

Southern California Mango Growing... HELP!!!!

TuesdaysHeart
10 years ago

I am new to gardening. Very new. I had a couple of mangoes... sprouted the seeds and planted them. I didn't expect anything to happen, but there are two little plants growing. (Adorable little plants.) So, now I'm reaching out to all you experienced gardeners for some advice on how to make my little babies thrive! I don't know anything about root rot, harvesting, idk anything. I have been reading and learning a few things but I don't want to lose my plants. Will they grow fruit and if they do, will it taste good? I don't even remember what kind of mangoes they were but I think they were from equator...

Does anyone have any advice, tips or tricks they'd like to share with a newby?

Comments (7)

• siccxfive
    10 years ago

they should be fine in the pot for a few months, then transplant to ground if possible. the only problem I had with my mango tree is it had caught a disease(leaves turning rusty color) but one trip to home depot for a $10 disease control spray fixed that right up. this was in an established TREE already though not a sprout so no worries for u. just lots of sun water and care and u should be enjoying mangos by next year or following depending on growth rate.

• TuesdaysHeart
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks soooo much!

• TuesdaysHeart
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks soooo much!

• ts91786
    10 years ago

Hello Tuesday,
    I'm not a mango expert (although i have two trees growing - Manila & NDM), but here are some general rules for growing them in So. Cal.
    1) Plant them in the warmest (hottest) location in your yard - prefereably a south-facing wall. Be prepared to provide shelter during the ocasional freeze (not sure where you are located)
    2) The soil should be ameneded and with good drainage.