Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wanda_gw

Moving Aloe plicatilis

wanda
14 years ago

I have an old(er) Aloe plicatilis that is starting to get to heavy and leans toward the sun. I staked it up (it's about 2-2 1/2' with about a 6-8" trunk and 2 large fans at the top).

I want to move it where it gets a little more sun so it doesn't lean so much.

How hard are they to dig up and move? And does it have a good chance of surviving. Also, when would be the best time to do this.

Thanks for any insight you can give me. I've been growing this thing from a 6" pot for about 7 or 8 years and I don't want to lose it.

wanda

Comments (8)

• bahia
    14 years ago

Wanda,
    I've not had any problems moving similar sized ones this time of year, but it would of course be safer to get as large a root ball as possible. This species is a pretty adaptable plant in our climate. As they are winter growers, I would assume that new root growth would possibly be faster this time of year, but maybe wait until the end of March/first of April and the soils might not be as wet. The worst part of moving one is that they are so full of water that they can be heavy, maybe get some help to lift it, or a pry bar can come in very handy.

• wanda
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks, Bahia! I will definitely get someone to help me lift and carry it. It was all I could do to push it back to stake it. It was a wrestling match for sure and it almost won!
    Do you know how deep it's roots go?

• bahia
    14 years ago

Root depth will obviously vary by soil type, but I'd think a root ball the depth of a 5 gallon nursery can would be adequate, and wider than the plant to get the most roots. Be sure to cleanly cut any damaged roots, and maybe let the cut roots air dry for a few days before replanting it.

• stanofh 10a Hayward,Ca S.F. bay area
    14 years ago