Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joonb_gw

Native trees for front of yard

JoonB
12 years ago

Hello all-

I am new to California and previously lived in a Zone 5 planting enviroment. We are completely redoing our landscaping at the house as it is so ugly. Now that I am in Zone 10, I want some trees in the front of my yard that does not have leaves falling. Which type of California native trees would you all recommend for planting in the front of my house, along the patio walkway? I don't want it looking desert-like, so can anyone offer me suggestions?

thanks

Comments (16)

• JoonB
    Original Author
    12 years ago

By the way, I am in Orange County, if that makes a difference in your suggestions.

Thanks

• billiame
    12 years ago

A few questions:

How big do you want it to get? Next to a walkway, to me, indicates small to medium.

Does it have to be native? There aren't a lot of native ornamental trees (for SoCal)that don't lose their leaves or aren't desert-like.

Here are some CA native trees with their description:

Cercis occidentalis (Western Redbud) - small, deciduous (drops leaves), multi-trunk, pretty flowers along branches in spring, messy seed pods

Chilopsis linearis (Desert Willow) - similar features as above, trumpet flowers, desert-looking

Parkinsonia aculeata (Palo Verde) - small, green trunk, yellow flowers, thorny, deciduous, desert looking

Platanus racemosa (Sycamore) - large, deciduous, maple-like leaves, interesting form

Quercus agrifolia (Coast live oak) - medium, slow growing, evergreen

Here are some non-native, ornamental trees that do not drop their leaves (all at once):

Acacia baileyana (Cootamundra Wattle)
    Acacia latifolia (Golden Wattle)
    Acacia pendula (Weeping Acacia)
    Acacia stenophylla (Shoestring Acacia)
    Agonis flexuosa (Peppermint Tree)
    Arbutus marina (Strawberry Tree)
    Brachychiton populneus (Bottle Tree)
    Geijera parviflora (Australian Willow)
    Maytenus boaria (Mayten Tree)