Return to the California Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Best place for Ranunculus in Sacramento garden?

Posted by melle_sacto Z9/Sunset 14 CA (My Page) on
Thu, Apr 4, 13 at 12:55

Yesterday my DH and 8 yo son stopped off at the nursery and brought home some surprises, including this gorgeous ranunculus! I am not familiar w/these at all. Our yard is mostly full sun or full afternoon sun. The only shady spot is also kind of soggy in the winter, and is totally full of plants.

What kind of place would this do best? I am not good with pots, they generally don't get enough water come summer...so they have to be tough plants or succulents.

Any tips appreciated, the pot says "Ranunculus - Mache - Rose: full to part sun". But does is really want FULL HOT sun or better with some shade...morning shade/afternoon sun that is LOL!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Best place for Ranunculus in Sacramento garden?

I grow mine in full sun in my Native/Summer Dormant garden. The area is mostly grasses (Deer Grass, Blue Festuca and Mexican Feather Grass,) but during the spring it's a riot of color with lots of penstemons, poppies, mimulus and rananculus. I don't water this area at all during the summer. These are native to regions that experience summer drought, and so will appreciate a dry dormant period in order to return the following spring. However, if you have no intent on keeping it for the following year, you can continue to water throughout the summer, and they will typically reach a point where their roots rot and then you can just toss them.

o

Interesting, I didn't realize they liked summer dormancy. That's okay by me :-) There are a few places in the yard that have low/minimal summer watering, I'll see which place my son wants to choose. He picked out the ranunculus and is VERY proud of it! I'm sure he'd like it to return every year (so he can pick the flowers, he's always been a flower-picker since he first started walking LOL)!

o