Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
medha_nanal

How to grow Oregano with a strong flavor?

homey_bird
13 years ago

Hi,

When I was a newbie gardener, I planted oregano. It never had the same flavor as dried or fresh one found in the grocery stores -- it kinda tasted/smellesh sweet like marjorum. So after a year, I took it out and replaced it with something else.

I recently started it all over again, this time, from a strand I bought in the grocery store. I tasted the bunch I bought, and leaves tasted great. Now, after bringing it home, and putting it in the ground, once again I find that the leaves that have come up are not nearly as flavorful as what I bought.

Again, it's not that they have no flavor; it's just that the bitter-pungentness (not sure if I'm describing it right, but that distinctive Oregano flavor) or strong flavor found in the dried or grocery store-fresh Oregano is missing here and a sweetish tinge has taken over.

Any idea why? Am I watering too much? Do I need to give it more sun? I'd appreciate any ideas!!

Comments (8)

• sffog
    13 years ago

i grow oregano and thyme, they like it dry, i find that they have a better flavor , the spring flush of growth is milder flavor than later in the summer when they get less water.basil likes water or it wilts.tarragon i like it mild so i love the first spring growth as for water just damp for tarragon, rosemary likes it dry, very drought tolerant.i hope this helps.

• dicot
    12 years ago

What are your soils like? I would venture to guess if it's too rich in compost, the oregano isn't producing the volatile oils in the leaves. A little clay & dryness can help some herbs flavor, imo.

• homey_bird
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I think both sffog and dicot are right. My soil is quite rich and secondly, due to the rains, all the new growth has been on plenty of water. Well - looks like I will need to be patient and see if it improves during summer months when soil gets drier.