Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cyumickey

growing passionfruit and kabocha in the Inland Empire

cyumickey
18 years ago

Hello! I am brand new to gardening, and wanted to know how/when to plant passionfruit and kabocha in the Inland Empire. Or even if it is possible. I don't think I'll have a problem with the kabocha. I'm curious about passionfruit. Any advice will be great! Thanks!

Comments (9)

• carolync1
    18 years ago

Passiflora edulis is very tender to frost and the Passifloras in general don't like hot summers. You could try them in a lathhouse with some winter protection. You might also try the hardier hybrid 'Incense' in part shade.

Here in the Central Valley, Kabocha squash is harvested in June and July for export to Japan. I am not partial to winter squash in July, and I have trouble with C. maxima and C. pepo varieties in the height of summer. I generally go with members of the C. moschata family (butternut family), which are somewhat more tolerant of heat. Even they wilt in the afternoons. The Tahitian Squash has a long season and is ready to pick at about the right time of year here. I had a lot of squash bugs last year, plus black widows under the Rumbo Korean pumpkins (a C. moschata variety). Will have to be more aggressive with squash bugs this year.

• cyumickey
    Original Author
    18 years ago

thanks! I've been having the hardest time trying to find out about this. How do you deal with the bugs and black widows (yuck, there were some around my house that the pest man sprayed for)? I really don't like bugs (shouldn't garden then!) Do you feed, fertilize, enrich? sorry for all the questions! the side of the house gets a lot of shade, maybe I can try the passionfruit there? my regular planter box is going to be on the south side of the house... or I can plant the kabocha on that shady side.

thanks for the advice!

• carolync1
    18 years ago