Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sfguy

Help identifying plants in SF yard

SFGuy
11 years ago

Can you kind folks help me identify some plants in the backyard of my new San Francisco home? I'm new to gardening and am trying to decide who should live and who should die. I think ultimately I would like to populate my yard with native drought-tolerant plants that attract hummingbirds (I experienced my first hummingbird recently and decided I want as many of them as possible, they're totally cool!).

Thanks!

Photo 1:

{{gwi:529726}}

Photo 2:

{{gwi:529727}}

Photo 3:

{{gwi:529729}}

Photo 4:

{{gwi:529731}}

Photo 5:

{{gwi:529733}}

Comments (10)

• hosenemesis
    11 years ago

Hi there SF guy, and welcome to gardening and Gardenweb.

Your first plant is some sort of sage, I believe, but someone else will fill you in on details. Looks like hummers will love it. They like red flowers with tubes.

I think plant #3 is Borage, an herb. It reseeds and can become a weed.

Plant #4 is Crocosmia, and it's a fine drought-tolerant bulb that will attract the hummers. If it dies back in the heat of summer don't worry- just trim back the dead foliage and in spring it will return and flower. It does not like to be wet or the bulbs rot.

Renee

• bahia
    11 years ago

1: Salvias gregii; the only California native in your set
    2: Forget me not; self sows as a pretty weed, not native
    3: Borage; another weedy self sowing herb with pretty flowers
    4: Chasmanthe aethiopica: a South African bulb which has naturalized here, survives on rainfall alone and goes deciduous in summer, it is attractive to Hummers
    5: Plum tree, another plant that has naturalized here and can survive on winter rainfall alone, birds and people like the fruit.