Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
melissa_h96

Please ID this Flowering Tree with Berries

Melissa.H
10 years ago

We have several of these trees in our backyard. I'd like to know what they are. In early spring small white flowers appear and they are currently turning into green berries.

I live in inland north Orange County.

Thank you!

Comments (12)

• Jjbjjbh Jjbjjbh
    10 years ago

I am new at SoCal horticulture, but my best guess.....Indian Jujube ...... Ziziphus mauritiana?

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23
    10 years ago

Pittosporum undulatum maybe. Do you have a close up of the flowers?

• Melissa.H
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I don't have any close ups of the flowers, just the one photo. I will take a full photo of the tree tomorrow and post it. Perhaps that will help more.

Thanks!

• Jjbjjbh Jjbjjbh
    10 years ago

Melissa, this is how the jujube flowers and green berries look like. The berries ripen to a reddish brown color. Hope these pictures can help you either in eliminating it or identifying it. Good Luck.

• Jjbjjbh Jjbjjbh
    10 years ago

Sorry couldn't upload two pictures in one post. Here are the green jujube berries.

• Melissa.H
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here is a full photo of one of the trees.

• Melissa.H
    Original Author
    10 years ago

And a close up of the berries currently on all the trees.

• Melissa.H
    Original Author
    10 years ago

jjjb- Thanks for sharing those! I think compared to my photos the berries appear to have a bit of a different shape, and the leaves appear a bit different as well.

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23
    10 years ago

Maybe Pittosporum undulatum, and it is planted way, way too close to that wall. I am not completely sure. If the fruits turn yellow, very likely. If black then perhaps Prunus ilicifolia, or Prunus caroliniana, but it's way early for them to bloom.