Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brownthumb_gardener

tree collards

He fellow gardeners,

I am new to this web site but I'm so excited I found it. I've been searching for someone who has tree collards and is willing share or sale me a few cutting. Of course I'll pay for the postage. I live in Houston Texas and this wonderful perenial is relatively unknown here. The nurseries that sale them (all in Cali) do not mail order so thats a dead end. So please have sympathy on this ole Texas gal and share with me; I'd do it for you. Thanks guys.

Comments (11)

• gobluedjm 9/18 CA
    14 years ago

Have you tried ebay or even googling for a seed company.

• gardenguru1950
    14 years ago

btg:

This subject was a thread in this (or another?) forum last year sometime.

It seems there is a lot of confusion about this plant, and worse, a lot of people trying to take advantage of others.

There's a lot of people selling "tree collards" including amateurs and some small mailorder nurseries (I found at least one outside of California). gobluedjm has good advice.

Shop around and beware of the BS.

Personally, I'm not sure what the hype is all about.

Joe

• Dar Sunset Zone 18
    14 years ago

Is this a tree collard? My mom grew them from cuttings and this one is about a year old or so.

{{gwi:534411}}

{{gwi:534413}}

• brownthumb_gardener
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Hi Joe,
    Have you seen musaboru's pictures of tree collards? You'd have to love collard greens and know how to cook them to understand. The nutritional value and good taste is an added bonus. Basically, a tree collard will keep on growing a branching giving you a supply of collard green leaves from several branches from the time it's a small plant. Plus it lives and produces for several years.