Return to the California Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Kalanchoe beharensis 'Fang' Care in Stockton, CA

Posted by bellpepperguy CA (My Page) on
Sun, May 22, 11 at 20:21

I am new to this plant but I absolutely love the look of it and I want to do all I can to keep it healthy. If anyone can offer advice on the following questions it would be greatly appreciated.
1.) I am a total rookie when it comes to these so I would like to know if this plant looks to be in good health? If not do you have any suggestions for turning it around?

2.) Since I've had it I've simply been gently pulling the dead leaves off and leaving them around the root base to give them a chance to propagate. I used used some plant food when I first planted it and will be testing the soil moisture to avoid overwatering going forward. Is this strategy enough or should I know more about proper trimming habits or anything else I'm not mentioning?

3.) I live in Northern California and while it is rare we do have a weekend or two in the winter where the temp gets around 30 degrees. This is planted in a spot that has protection from wind but I am not sure if I should plan on covering these during the winter to avoid cold damage. Thoughts?

Thanks all for any help you can offer.

Pics here:
http://i757.photobucket.com/albums/xx212/Graakk/Plants/IMG_0896.jpg

http://i757.photobucket.com/albums/xx212/Graakk/Plants/IMG_0898.jpg

http://i757.photobucket.com/albums/xx212/Graakk/Plants/IMG_0900.jpg

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Kalanchoe beharensis 'Fang' Care in Stockton, CA

bellpepperguy, if you copy and paste the HTML code in, instead of this link to the jpg, you'll post the photos right in your message :-)

Patty S.

o

All for you Patty S

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

o

Your growing it well out of its zone..but the valley heat makes up for light frost damage.
I would do all I could to protect it when winter temps hit into the 20's. Cover or use bulbs to heat..