Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jbplantobsessed

Roses are almost done...is this the peak?

jbplantobsessed
10 years ago

This is my first year gardening here in California. I am not used to having such a lengthy growing season!

I noticed that we are about 2.5 months ahead of where I used to live in Ontario.

I planted quite a few plants in the past year since I have lived here. I am noticing that it seems like things have peaked! The roses are going, but some look like they are almost done.

I can tell that the oleanders will peak soon enough...lavenders are going, as well as the kangaroo paw. But not much else will have any big flushes it seems.

What reliable, drought tolerant plants can I plant to keep some blooms going into June/July/August? I have flowers that are purple, yellow, orange and coral in the garden. I have a lot of variety in foliage which will keep things a little interesting over the long haul I guess...

Usually in Canada we only have about 4 months total of growing time before frosts kill everything back....is it even possible to have perpetual blooming for 8 months out here?

Thanks, and sorry for sounding like such a newbie LOL

Comments (27)

• hosenemesis
    10 years ago

Yup, this weekend is the end of the peak. I'll be interested to read what people recommend to extend the season. I have daylilies and true lilies that will begin blooming soon, so I recommend them. Canna lilies, and echinacea. I grow reblooming irises as well- they will bloom again in late summer and/or fall.
    Renee

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    10 years ago

Here in northern California, most modern roses will bloom again in about six weeks, but the first bloom in always the best. The old roses with only bloom a year are now approaching full bloom here. I often have roses, the modern teas and florabundas in bloom in the fall usually November when we get the first frost. You will love California gardening. Al

• gobluedjm 9/18 CA
    10 years ago